May 23, 2024
Delhi capitals

Delhi Capitals (DC) IPL 2023: Matches, Schedule, History, Auction, Team, and More…

The Delhi Capitals (formerly known as Delhi Daredevils) is one of the eight founding teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL), IPL 2023 is going to start on 31st March 2023, and has been a consistent performer in the tournament since its inception in 2008. Although the team has not yet won an IPL title, it has produced some exceptional performances, created many records, and entertained fans with its aggressive and fearless brand of cricket.


The Delhi Capitals started their IPL journey in 2008 under the ownership of the GMR Group. The team was captained by legendary Indian opener Virender Sehwag, and it included some talented players like Gautam Gambhir, AB de Villiers, and Glenn McGrath. However, despite having a strong squad, the team failed to qualify for the playoffs in the first two seasons.

In 2010, the Delhi Capitals signed former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara and appointed him as the skipper. Although Sangakkara led the team admirably, they could only manage to finish fifth in the league standings.

Over the years, the Delhi Capitals have had some prominent names associated with the team, including Mahela Jayawardene, Rahul Dravid, Zaheer Khan, and Sourav Ganguly, among others. However, the team continued to struggle to make an impact in the tournament, and it was not until 2019 that they managed to reach the playoffs for the first time since 2012.

Under the guidance of young and dynamic captain Shreyas Iyer and coach Ricky Ponting, the Delhi Capitals had a breakthrough season in 2020, finishing as the runners-up in the tournament. The team played an exciting brand of cricket, with impressive performances from their top-order batsmen like Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw, and their fast bowlers like Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje.

IPL Schedule 2023 Time Table and Teams | IPL 2023


Delhi capitals

The Delhi Capitals have played some memorable matches in the IPL over the years. Here are some of their top performances:

  1. Delhi Capitals vs. Deccan Chargers, 2009: In this high-scoring encounter, the Delhi Capitals chased down a massive target of 188 with ease, thanks to an unbeaten 105 from AB de Villiers.
  2. Delhi Capitals vs. Kings XI Punjab, 2017: In this match, the Delhi Capitals chased down 209, the highest total ever chased in the IPL, thanks to a scintillating 97 from Rishabh Pant.
  3. Delhi Capitals vs. Mumbai Indians, 2019: In this thrilling encounter, the Delhi Capitals won by just 37 runs, defending a total of 213, with a fiery spell of fast bowling from Kagiso Rabada, who took four wickets for just 21 runs.


The Delhi Capitals have set several records in the IPL over the years, some of which are as follows:

  1. Fastest Fifty: Chris Morris holds the record for the fastest fifty for the Delhi Capitals, scoring 50 off just 17 balls against Gujarat Lions in 2016.
  2. Most Runs in a Single IPL Season: Shikhar Dhawan holds the record for scoring the most runs in a single IPL season for the Delhi Capitals, amassing 618 runs in 2020.
  3. Most Wickets in a Single IPL Season: Kagiso Rabada holds the record for taking the most wickets in a single IPL season for the Delhi Capitals, picking up 30 wickets in 2020.
  4. Highest Team Total: The Delhi Capitals scored their highest team total of 231/4 against Kings XI Punjab in 2020, thanks to a blazing century from Shikhar Dhawan.
  5. Most Sixes in an Innings: Rishabh Pant holds the record for hitting the most sixes in an inning for the Delhi Capitals, smashing 7 sixes in his knock of 128* against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018.

Delhi Capitals (DC) IPL 2023 Overview

Tournament Name Indian Premier League
Team Name Delhi Capitals
Captain name Rishabh Pant
Team manager Siddharth Bhasin
Season 16th
Chairman of team Parth Jindal

Delhi Capitals (DC) Full Squad For IPL 2023

David Warner, Manish Pandey, Prithvi Shaw, Rilee Rossouw, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Ishant Sharma, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi, Mukesh Kumar, Mustafizur Rahman, Pravin Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Aman Khan, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh, Philip Salt, and Rishabh Pant

Must Read: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) IPL 2023: Matches, Dates, Schedule, and More

Delhi Capitals IPL Players List

Player Name Country Age Role Auction Price
Rishabh Pant (c&wk) India 25 years WK-Batsman Rs. 16 Cr(R)
Prithvi Shaw India 23 years Batsman Rs. 7.50Cr(R)
David Warner Australia 36 years Batsman Rs. 6.25 Crores(R)
Sarfaraz Khan India 25 years Batsman Rs. 20 Lakhs(R)
Yash Dhull India 20 years Batsman Rs. 50 Lakhs(R)
Rovman Powell West Indies 29 years Batsman Rs. 2.80 crores(R)
Anrich Nortje South Africa 29 years Bowler Rs. 6.50 Cr(R)
Kamlesh Nagarkoti India 22 years Bowler Rs. 1.10 crores(R)
Mustafizur Rahman Bangladesh 27 years Bowler Rs. 2 crores(R)
Lungi Ngidi South Africa 26 years Bowler Rs. 50 Lakhs(R)
Khaleel Ahmed India 25 years Bowler Rs. 5.25 crores(R)
Chetan Sakariya India 24 years Bowler Rs. 4.20 crores(R)
Praveen Dubey India 29 years Bowler Rs. 50 Lakhs(R)
Kuldeep Yadav India 28 years Bowler Rs. 2 crores(R)
Axar Patel India 28 years All-rounder Rs. 9 crores(R)
Mitchell Marsh Australia 31 years All-rounder Rs. 6.50 Crores(R)
Lalit Yadav India 25 years All-rounder Rs. 65 Lakhs(R)
Ripal Patel India 27 years All-rounder Rs. 20 Lakhs(R)
Vicky Ostwal India 20 years All-rounder Rs. 20 Lakh(R)
Aman Khan India 26 years Allrounder Traded from KKR
Ishant Sharma India 34 years Bowler Rs. 50 lakhs
Phil Salt England 26 years Wicketkeeper Rs. 2 Crores
Manish Pandey India 33 years Batsman Rs. 2.4 crores
Mukesh Kumar India 29 years Fast Bowler Rs. 5.5 crores
Rilee Russouw South Africa 33 years Batsman Rs. 4.6 crores

Delhi Capitals IPL Match Schedule

DATE Of MatchesMatches BetweenPlace Of MatchesTime of Matches
1 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Lucknow Super GiantsLakhnow7:30 PM
4 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Gujarat TitansDelhi7:30 PM
8 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan RoyalsGuwahati3:30 PM
11 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai IndiansDelhi7:30 PM
15 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru3:30 PM
20 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight RidersDelhi7:30 PM
24 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers HyderabadHyderabad7:30 PM
29 April 2023Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers HyderabadDelhi7:30 PM
2 May 2023Delhi Capitals vs Gujarat TitansAhmedabad7:30 PM
6 May 2023Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers BangaloreDelhi7:30 PM
10 May 2023Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super KingsChennai7:30 PM
13 May 2023Delhi Capitals vs Punjab KingsDelhi7:30 PM
17 May 2023Delhi Capitals vs Punjab KingsDharamshala 7:30 PM
20 May 2023Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super KingsDelhi3:30 PM

Delhi Capitals IPL Auction 2023

Delhi Capitals released only 5 players before the IPL auction. The Delhi Capitals team bought five players in the mini-auction held for IPL 2023. The team, which came fifth in the IPL 202, bought Mukesh Kumar from Bihar, who played domestic cricket, at the highest price and the owners included fast bowler Mukesh in the team for Rs 5.50 crore.

Also Read Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) IPL 2023: Matches, Schedule, Teams, Records, and More;


When IPL 2023 is going to Start?

31st march 2023, is the date when the first match between GT and CSK is going to hold.

The first match of Delhi Capital is on.

The first match of Delhi Capital is with Lakhnow Super Giants on 1st April 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *